Can A Raccoon Rationalize?

The other night I heard the garbage cans being rummaged through. I did what I normally do–I woke my husband out of a sound sleep. The up side of that, is his snoring stops and I can go back to my dreams. I turned over in bed, safe in the knowledge that my significant other, clad in boxers and tee and mightily armed with a dust broom, would save our garbage. I really hate to wake up in the morning knowing our neighbors can now see that my home cooking means reheating Dominos pizza.

My husband’s scream woke me back up. “Argghh!” followed by him yelling, “What do you think you’re doing?” The words echoed in the once quiet neighborhood. I went to the window, wondering if maybe a person was rummaging in our garbage. No. My husband was waving the broom at a raccoon that was running away. So, my usually sane partner-for-life was asking a raccoon what he thought he was doing. By this time, our two sons were up and standing with me near the open window, amazed that their father was now talking to animals. I saw the lights go on in our neighbors’ houses.

For the record, the raccoon didn’t answer.

3 responses to “Can A Raccoon Rationalize?

  1. That’s funny…my fiance and I were just discussing whether animals have the ability to rationalize. I remember they told us in school that was THE thing that separated the human race – our ability to rationalize. I don’t think animals rationalize – I think they act on instinct. Totally different.

    Like

Comments are closed.