“Me And My Friends”

Watch out–rant ahead. Please, people, (and especially if you’re a college grad), do not say “Me and my friends are going somewhere.” I’ve seen this over and over again on blogs and Facebook. I’ve even seen this used on a writer’s forum. It sounds like a kindergartener speaking. A child who hasn’t had third grade grammar yet. To sound believable and educated, it’s “I and my friends.” But even better is to put your friends first, as in, “My friends and I are going to the store.”

Think of it this way. Would you say “Me is going to the store” ? No. So therefore, you shouldn’t say, “Me and my friends are going to the store.” 

I could go into a whole grammar lesson on the proper use of me and I, but not now.

Rant over.

I’m going to the store.

3 responses to ““Me And My Friends”

  1. I come from a family where grammar was discussed at the dinner table. To many that sounds dull, dull, dull. To me, it was fun, a challenge, since I was the youngest of four daughters. I was a really exciting kid. 🙂

    Like

  2. I am so with you! Ugh! I am such a grammar nazi…I cringe whenever someone above the age of 6 says that! (and “good” when it should be “well” etc, etc). I am so happy that my DH has excellent grammar skills!

    Like

Comments are closed.