Summertime And The Livin’ Is…Hot

I think that I shall never see,
a summer packed with so much heat.
When I dare to venture out,
my car insists I do without.
 
So windows open, arms out-thrust,
I’m hit with heat that comes in gusts.
My hair is tousled, armpits stained,
drenched in sweat; I look deranged.
 
I purchase ice cream by the ton,
forgetting ’bout the horrid sun.
I get them home and find out that
the cartons now are liquid vats.
 
I’m at the point where I would take
a blizzard to this wilt-n-bake.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 
2 responses to “Summertime And The Livin’ Is…Hot

  1. ew… half-melted ice cream are too sweet and drips all over the place, not to mention that when it sticks to your cloth, it will be painful to remove it just in time as it would dry out and leave a nasty patch.

    Like

  2. Haha, very nice poem! It’s so annoying because it’s the weather for ice cream, but I can’t stand even half-melted ice cream.

    Like

Comments are closed.